Copper Point Staff & Facility Nominated for Awards


The PGA of British Columbia is excited to announce the regional recipients in each of the ten categories for the 2016 PGA of BC Awards. Each category features one nominee from each region, including: Vancouver Island, the Lower Mainland, Interior, and Kootenays/Northern BC.

New for 2016, the PGA of BC is proud to recognize legends in British Columbia with the naming of the annual awards after individuals who have excelled and had dramatic impacts on our industry in their respective field.

Below, PGA of BC members will find a link to vote for their preferred candidate in each category. Please note that a PGA of Canada member ID is required to submit your ballot, and numbers will be verified. Voting will remain open until Thursday, September 29 at 12:00 p.m. The voting results will then be forwarded to the final selection committee, which consists of past PGA of BC Award Recipients. Please note that voting will NOT directly determine the recipient of each award, but will be used as supplemental information for the committee in their final decision making.

2016 PGA of BC Awards Regional Recipients

Dick Munn Golf Professional of the Year

  • Alan Palmer – Head Professional, Shaughnessy Golf & Country Club
  • Brian Schaal – Executive Professional, Copper Point Golf Club
  • Brice MacDermott- Head Professional, Kamloops Golf & Country Club
  • Lindsay Bernakevitch – Head Professional, Victoria Golf Club

Fred Wood Class “A” Professional of the Year 

  • Ashley Zibrik- Class “A” Professional, Shaughnessy Golf & Country Club
  • Cindy Soukoroff- Class “A” Professional, St. Eugene Golf Resort & Casino
  • Jamie Stevens- Class “A” Professional, Kelowna Golf & Country Club
  • Doug Hastie- Class “A” Professional, Bear Mountain Golf Resort

Jock McKinnon Candidate for Membership of the Year

  • Scott Cameron – CFM, The Redwoods Golf Course
  • Bryan Armstrong – CFM, Copper Point Golf Club
  • Jason Jurimae – CFM, Gallagher’s Canyon Golf & Country Club
  • Brian Wise – CFM, Glacier Greens Golf Course

Jack McLaughlin Junior Golf Leader of the Year

  • Chris Lutes – Teaching Professional, Northview Golf Academy
  • Braden Chown – CFM, Castlegar Golf Club
  • AJ Eathorne – CFM, Predator Ridge Golf Resort
  • Corey Lowe – Class “A” Professional, Cordova Bay Golf Club

Herb Paterson Sales Representative of the Year

  • Andy Dexter – Callaway Golf (recipient in both Lower Mainland and Vancouver Island regions)
  • Deanna Ruby – G&G Golf Company Inc.
  • Jon Kadin- Nielsen Agencies Inc.

Golf Shop of the Year

  • University Golf Club
  • Fairmont Hot Springs Resort
  • Predator Ridge Golf Resort
  • Glacier Greens Golf Course

Alvie Thompson Teacher of the Year

  • Jordan Fletcher – Head Professional, The Redwoods Golf Course
  • Jeremy Johnson – Head Professional, Fairmont Hot Springs Resort
  • Brodie Carle – CFM, Predator Ridge Golf Resort
  • Arlen Wocknitz – Class “A” Professional, Victoria Golf Club

Facility of the Year

  • Burnaby Mountain Golf Course & Driving Range
  • Copper Point Golf Club
  • Talking Rock Golf Resort
  • Victoria Golf Club

Jack Westover Coach of the Year

  • Matt Palsenbarg – Head Teaching Professional, Northview Golf Academy
  • Steve Haggard – Head Professional, Hirsch Creek Golf & Winter Club
  • AJ Eathorne – CFM, Predator Ridge Golf Resort
  • Kevin Oates – Head Professional, Morningstar Golf Club

Davie Black Professional Development Award

  • Matt Dunn – CFM, Shaughnessy Golf & Country Club
  • Peter Smith – Executive Professional, Fairmont Hot Springs Resort
  • Adam Blair – Head Professional, Talking Rock Resort
  • Jeff Palmer- Head Professional, Ardmore Golf Course

Recipients will be awarded at the 2016 PGA of BC Awards Celebration taking place on Wednesday, October 12, from 6:30-8:30 p.m., at the River Rock Casino Resort in Richmond. Tickets to the reception can be purchased by following this link. Admission will include Hors d’oeuvres and two drink tickets at the event. At the reception, three additional awards, determined by the PGA of BC Administration and Board of Directors, will be presented to their respective recipients. This includes the Jim Gibson Patron of the Year Award, the Arv Olson Media Personnel of the Year Award, and the Dunc Sutherland Distinguished Service Award.